Before and After Resources

NOTE: All information has been checked to the best of our ability before going to press. Paint and fabric colors may vary slightly due to the printing process. We cannot guarantee items will be available. If you discover a specific item is discontinued, please contact the company to inquire about similar merchandise. Any unlisted items are unavailable.

THE SAME, ONLY BETTER: Dan West Builders, Long Island, New York; 631/463-6631. Architect Jiri Boudnik; 917/586-6174. All items are one of a kind or from homeowner's personal collection (U).

ISLAND OVERHAUL: Architect Merrill Pasco; 843/681-8521 or merrillpasco.com. Builder Ernest Broome; 803/754-5130. Outdoor chairs, JANUS et Cie; janusetcie.com (M). Umbrellas, Smith & Hawken; 800/940-1170 or smithandhawken.com (R). Taylor sofa, Bernhardt; 866/527-9099 or bernhardt.com (M). Reclaimed-teak and iron console, Peddler's Home Design; 800/391-4927 or peddlersdesign.com (R). Dining table, Niermann Weeks; 410/923-0123 or niermannweeks.com (D). Rugs, Merida; 800/345-2200 or meridameridian.com (M). Zinc table, vintage lamps, and art, unavailable (U).

LIGHTEN UP: White tray, Kosta Boda glasses and pitcher, and Hoganas Keramik salad bowl, The Sweden Shop, Chicago; 773/478-0327 or theswedenshop.com (R). Light fixtures, Schoolhouse Electric; 800/630-7113 or schoolhouseelectric.com (R). Kitchen walls in DKC-52 and dining room walls in DKC-13, Donald Kaufman Color Collection; donaldkaufmancolor.com (R). Dining room chandelier, Crate & Barrel; 800/967-6696 or crateandbarrel.com (R). Dining room table and chairs, Vintage Pine, Chicago; 312/943-9303 or vintagepine.com (R). Towels, Sweetwater Boating Supplies, New Buffalo, Michigan; 269/469-6560 (R).

INSIDE JOB: Sofa and occasional table designed by Anthony Garrett, Geiger International; 800/444-8812 or geigerintl.com (M). Berenice floor lamps designed by Paolo Rizzatto and Alberto Meda, Luceplan; 212/989-6265 or luceplan.com (M). French Blue limestone counters, mantel, and hearth, and Gasgogne Grey bath stone, Stone Selection, Union City, California; 510/477-8700 or stoneselection.com (R). Capelli master bath stool designed by Carol Catalano, Herman Miller; 616/654-3000 or hermanmiller.com (M). Carpet, Shaw; 800/441-7429 or shawinc.com (M). Upholstery fabric, Knoll; 800/343-5665 or knoll.com (M). Pillow fabric, Donghia; donghia.com (D). Custom sycamore cabinetry designed by Anthony Garrett, Mueller Nicholls, Oakland, California; 510/444-5000 or mnbuild.com. Stone floor in Hauteville limestone with Mexican Black River Stone inlay, Rossi USA Corp.; 708/386-0183 (M). Swing suspension lamps designed by Larissa Sand, 100watt; 888/477-9288 or 100watt.net (R). Windows and French doors, Marvin; 888/537-7828 or marvin.com (M). Faucets designed by Arne Jacobsen for Vola, Hastings Tile & Bath; 800/351-0038 or hastingstilebath.com (R). Towel bar, Gatco; 800/227-5640 or gatcoinc.com (M).

Legend
(M) Contact the manufacturer for a retail source near you.

(R) Retail store or mail order

(C) Commissioned work by artists or craftspeople

(D) Available only through a designer or an architect.

(U) Unavailable