Smart Shopping

These durable, efficient products will last for years-and save you money in the long run.

  • Print
  • |
  • Email
 Building Products  
 Flooring 
Choose sustainably harvested and reclaimed wood flooring, or chemical-free recycled or manufactured alternatives such as carpet, stone, brick, and tile.

Armstrong; 800/233-3823 or armstrong.com 
EcoTimber; 415/258-8454 or ecotimber.com 
Endura Wood Products; 503/233-7090 or endurawood.com 
Flooring Alternatives; 510/550-4449 or flooringalternatives.com 
Golden Look; 800/433-5397 or goldenlook.com 
Greener Lifestyles; 206/545-4405 or greenerlifestyles.com 
Interface FLOR; 866/281-3567 or florcatalog.com 
Mohawk; 800/266-4295 or mohawkflooring.com 
Teragren; 800/929-6333 or teragren.com

 Insulation 
Look for natural and recycled fibers without chemical additives or offgassing from volatile organic compounds (VOCs).

Bonded Logic, Inc.; 480/812-9114 or bondedlogic.com 
InnoTherm; 828/466-1147 or innotherm.com 
Johns Manville; 800/654-3103 or jm.com 
GreenFiber; 800/228-0024 or cocooninsulation.com

 Windows and Doors 
Opt for designs that minimize wear and tear. Seek Energy Star-certified products to help reduce power bills, and buy impact-resistant and UV-protective glass to guard your interiors.

Andersen Windows and Doors; 888/888-7020 or andersenwindows.com 
Comfort Line, Ltd.; 800/522-4999 or fiberframe.com 
Henselstone Window & Door Systems; 540/937-5796 or henselstone.com 
JELD-WEN; 877/535-3462 or jeldwen.com 
Marvin Windows and Doors; 888/537-7828 or marvin.com 
Pella; 800/374-4758 or pella.com 
PGT WinGard; pgtindustries.com/products/WinGuard 
Simonton Windows; 800/542-9118 or simonton.com

 Paints and Finishes 
Read labels to find finishes with low to no offgassing.

American Clay; 866/404-1634 or americanclay.com 
Auro; 888/302-9352 or aurousa.com 
Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com 
Ecological Paint; 520/628-1553 or ecologicalpaint.com 
Olympic, available at Lowe's; 800/445-6937 or lowes.com 
Rodda Paint; roddapaint.com 
Safecoat; 800/239-0321 or safecoatpaint.com 
Sundance catalog's Prairie Paint; 800/422-2770 or sundancecatalog.com 
Yolo Colorhouse; 503/493-8275 or yolocolorhouse.com

 Framework and Exterior Finishes 
Shop for hurricane-resistant bracing systems and low-maintenance composites that protect natural resources. These long-lasting products won't warp, rot, or crack, even in coastal environments.

AZEK; 877/275-2935 or azek.com 
Eldorado Stone; eldoradostone.com 
Georgia-Pacific; gp.com/build 
Simpson Strong Tie; strongtie.com 
Tamko Building Products (also offers composite roofing systems); tamko.com 
TimberTech; 800/307-7780 or timbertech.com 
Trex; 800/289-8739 or trex.com 
Trimax Building Products; 866/987-4629 or trimaxbp.com

 Interiors 
 Appliances and Fixtures 
Renovating a kitchen? Look for the Energy Star label on appliances. When shopping for bath fixtures, choose dual-flush toilets and other water-saving devices.

Broan; 800/558-1711 or broan.com 
Delta; deltafaucet.com 
Franke; franke.com 
GE Appliances; 800/626-2005 or geappliances.com 
Jenn-Air; 800/688-1100 or jennair.com 
Kenmore; kenmore.com 
Kohler; kohler.com 
Lennox; 800/953-6669 or lennox.com 
Moen; 800/289-6636 or moen.com 
NuTone; 888/336-3948 or nutone.com 
Toto; 888/295-8134 or totousa.com 
Viking; 888/845-4641 or vikingrange.com 
Whirlpool; whirlpool.com

 Lighting 
Look for the Energy Star label here, too. The bulbs listed below last longer and save more energy than incandescent bulbs. They also help purify the air.

Greenlite; 800/930-2111 or greenliteusa.com 
Ozone Lite; 800/494-8292 or ozonelite.com

Page 1

More Ways To Get Coastal Living

Advertisement

 

JavaScript must be enabled to use this Calendar module.

MOST POPULAR
1
Top 21 Beaches, Coast to Coast

Plan your summer getaway now: From white strands to secret coves, we've found the ultimate spots by the shore, plus fabulous lodging so you can stay as long as you like.

The Cove Beach, Cape May, New Jersey